5 African Players With The Most World Cup Goals; No. 1 Will Shock You

The African player who currently holds the World Football Cup record for most goals scored is a Ghanaian. He participated in the competition three times and managed to score six goals overall.

Asamoah Gyan – 6 Goals

Asamoah Gyan

Gyan tops the list of African World Cup goal scorers with six goals in three tournaments (2006, 2010, and 2014), breaking Roger Milla’s all-time record. Asamoah scored one goal in 2006 against the Czech Republic; three goals against Serbia, Australia, and the USA; two goals against Germany and Portugal in 2014; and one goal in 2014 against the United States.

  • Roger Milla – 5 Goals
Roger Milla

With five goals to his name, Roger Milla is well-known across the continent. He scored four goals at the 1990 World Cup, and each of them was honored with a distinctive dance. He gained notoriety in 1994 when he scored, becoming the oldest goal scorer in a World Cup match. He’s a Cameroonian.

Ahmed Musah – 4 Goals

Ahmed Musa

Two goals were scored against Argentina in the 2014 World Cup, and two more goals were scored against Iceland in the 2018 World Cup in Russia (2018)

Samuel Eto’o – 3 Goals

Samuel Eto’o

Eto’o became the first guy to receive the award four times in a row in Africa. Up to the 2008 FIFA World Cup, when Victor Manon, who was 16 years and 15 days old, broke the previous record, he played in his first World Cup. On June 6, 2002, he scored the game-winning goal against Saudi Arabia in the group stage of the FIFA World Cup, giving Cameroon its lone victory of the tournament.

Papa Bouba Diop – 3 Goals

Papa Bouba Diop

Bouba Diop of Senegal has scored as many goals in World Cup history as Samuel Eto’o, but with fewer appointments challenged. Three goals were scored by the Senegalese footballer at the 2002 World Cup in Korea and Japan.

Achieving this specific ranking demonstrates how, despite having tremendous natural talent, African football still struggles to come together for a major tournament like a World Cup.


Henri Camara, Senegal, 2 goals,


Patrick Mboma, Cameroon, 2 goals

1998, 2002

Didier Drogba, Cote d’Ivoire, 2 goals

2006, 2010

Aruna Dindane, Cote d’Ivoire, 2, goals

SOURCE: Pulse.com.gh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *