CAF awards AFCON 2025 to Morocco

The Confédération Africaine de Football (CAF) has announced the hosts for the 2025 and 2027 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) tournaments. Morocco has been chosen for the 2025 edition, while Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda will jointly host the 2027 competition. This decision was influenced by the detailed reports from the Independent Assessment Committees.

Join Us:

Roland Berger was the committee responsible for the 2025 tournament evaluation, and PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) conducted the assessment for the 2027 edition.

Dr. Patrice Motsepe, CAF President, commended the quality of the bidding countries’ presentations and the thorough reports from both Roland Berger and PwC.


Dr. Motsepe expressed his confidence in the chosen countries’ ability to meet the high standards set for hosting a successful and world-class AFCON Competition.

Join Us:

He also voiced satisfaction that the commitment to allow each of the 6 CAF Zonal Unions to host the AFCON Competition is being realized, with the 2027 edition being awarded to Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda, members of the CECAFA Zone.

The last time this Zone hosted AFCON was back in 1976 when Ethiopia was the host. To ensure that the hosting countries adhere to their commitments, the CAF Secretariat, led by Mr. Véron Mosengo-Omba, will be visiting Morocco, Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda.

Advertisements Text

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *